PT | EN | ES

On August 6, 2016, the Sadako Sasaki Prize will be awarded to defenders of the human rights of women and girls in Brazil.

The Award is an initiative of the Brazil Japan Commission of the Neo Humanitarian Universalist Organization, ONH-U, the Sadako Sasaki Club, the Office of Councilman Gilberto Natalini of the São Paulo City Council, with institutional support from the Consulate General of Japan in São Paulo, and cultural support from MOA International Brasil.
The aim of the Sadako Sasaki Award for Gender Equality is to reward initiatives that promote social development through humanitarian and volunteer work, prioritizing four areas of extreme importance for the empowerment of women and girls: professional ethics, women's leadership and participation in society, engagement in the elimination of violence against women and girls, social impact under the auspices of gender equality and long-term continuity of action, in 12 different categories: Social Activism, Sustainable Library, Culture of Peace, Dissemination of Women's Rights, Education and Social Development, Culture of Peace School, Women's Empowerment, Encouraging Reading and Book Dissemination, Social and Humanitarian Inclusion, Public Policy in Defense of Women's Rights, Corporate Social Responsibility and Women's Health.
The 12 winners will be honored on August 6 at 3pm at the Anchieta Palace (Viaduto Jacareí, 100) in São Paulo. Meet the winners:
Social Activism and Sustainable Development: Rosa Richter
Sustainable Library: Adriana Ferrari
Culture of Peace: Lia Diskin
Dissemination of Women's Rights: Maria Sylvia Aparecida de Oliveira
Education and Social Development: Iolanda Keiko Miashiro Ota
Culture of Peace School: Hiroshima City State School
Female Empowerment: Raquel Rosenberg
Encouraging Reading and Book Distribution: Bruna Vieira
Social and Humanitarian Inclusion: Rosa Matsushita
Public Policy in Defense of Women's Rights: Albertina Duarte Takiuti
Corporate Social Responsibility: Rosely Ugolini
Women's Health: Gilze Maria Costa Francisco 
Congratulations to all the winners!